The curriculum at Reigate School is designed to inspire and challenge all children and prepare them for the future. Our aim is to teach a broad and balanced curriculum that equips children:

  • for further education and employment.
  • to become responsible citizens who make a positive contribution to society.
  • to live safe, healthy and fulfilling lives.

Find and compare schools in England

3 Year Key Stage 4

Reigate School has a three-year Key Stage 4 (KS4).  This enables children to start their KS4 subjects in Year 9 and provides additional time to extend lesson content and ideas. It also provides Year 9 children with the opportunity to work alongside peers that share similar passions.

Reigate School is dedicated to providing all children with a broad and balanced curriculum. Throughout Key Stage 3 (KS3) substantial time is given to foundation subjects such as geography, history, French, Spanish, religious education, physical education, design technology, drama, dance, music, computing and food. As children progress into Key Stage 4 all children continue to study English, mathematics, science, religious education, life skills, physical education, humanities and modern foreign languages. This ensures their curriculum remains broad and balanced throughout all their time at Reigate School, not just within KS3.

Key Stage 3

In Key Stage 3 (KS3) children are grouped in three bands R, S and T. They are taught a broad and balanced curriculum, click here for a full list of subjects and the number of lessons allocated to each subject.

Key Stage 4

At the start of KS4 children are regrouped in new R, S and T bands. They are taught a core curriculum of English, maths, science, core PE, religious education, humanities and modern foreign languages. Children select a further two subjects from a possible sixteen. A full list of option subjects can be found in the KS4 options section of our website.

Mixed Attainment Teaching

Research indicates that setting based on attainment can have a detrimental impact on some children, particularly low attaining children and those from disadvantaged backgrounds. To ensure all children achieve our curriculum aims we teach a wide range of subjects in mixed attainment groups. The links below are examples of research that support the principals behind this implementation decision:

Sutton Trust - What makes great teaching?

Education Endowment Foundation - Setting-or-streaming

Nottingham University - Boaler paper

Year groups and subjects which are taught in mixed attainment groups.

English Baccalaureate

To achieve our curriculum intention, the majority of children in KS4 are required to study EBaac qualifications. We believe that EBaac subjects provide children with the broad knowledge that employers and universities are looking for. They also ensure that we maintain high expectations for all our children, particularly those from disadvantaged backgrounds.

Department for Education's EBaac leaflet.

Religious Education

All children are required to study religious education throughout both key stages. Within religious education children are taught the beliefs and practices of a range of religions. As a school that has lower than national average ethnic diversity this helps children develop a greater understanding of other cultures and develop characteristics of tolerance.

KS4 Science

Throughout Year 9 and 10 all children are taught combined science. At the start of Year 10 children’s attainment is assessed in science through mock examinations. Mock data is combined with teacher assessments and parental input to decide if children progress onto Triple Science in Year 11. In Year 11 approximately a third of children will extend their learning onto Triple Science, with two-thirds of children using Year 11 to revisit and extend their knowledge of Combined Science.